My Journey & What’s Next…

Well, my four years of collegiate tennis at BYU has finally ended in April. To sum up how my experience, it was similar to riding a roller coaster. At times it was amazing but at times I was just ready to walk away. I was often emotionally, physically, and mentally drained. It got to the point that during my senior year, I came home crying almost every day because I had enough.
I’ve worked so hard at tennis and school that I was able to get a notable mentions. Over my four years, I was undefeated in singles at home my freshman year, I got WCC Honorable mention in either singles or doubles and sometimes both, made it to the All-American Tournament in doubles with my best friend, Savannah Ware, clinched the first undefeated home slate for the Cougars since 1998, and received WCC All Tournament Team for doubles. Lastly, I finally got the WCC Commissioner’s Honor Roll with a current cumulative GPA of 3.19. I definitely wish my journey ended in a better way, but I cannot tell you how happy to just be done and away from the team.
I miss competing, but I do not miss practicing or the team really… I miss my best friend on the team though.Besides the fact, the thought of starting a new chapter without collegiate tennis is somewhat frightening. I don’t know what I’m going to do with my life. I have one more year of school before I officially become an adult. I’m currently teaching tennis for BYU, another lady, and on my own. I finished an internship at Good Things Utah over the spring semester. I am so grateful that I got the opportunity to intern for ABC 4. I am in search for my Academic Internship I need to complete to graduate by April 2017. I am also in search for a part time job that will not conflict with schooling. It’s quite stressful to search for a job that will fit in your school schedule. Hopefully, I’ll be able to find one in the fall or winter. Wish me luck!
Leave a Reply

